Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey – Review & Giveaway!

This is a collaborative post. All views, opinions and images are my own.

The girls have been fans of Thomas and Friends for as long as I can remember. We often go to Thomas Land at Drayton Manor, in fact Lia has been going since she was four months old. The girls love both reading Thomas books and playing with the characters. So when we were asked to review Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey book and play scene, I knew they were going to love it.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review

Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey – The Book

I love reading with the girls and any book that can keep both of them engaged scores top marks from me. Pop-Up books are always the most exciting kind and this one didn’t disappoint.

The story follows Thomas’ Journey out of the station. You have to follow the track to find out where he’s going today.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewHe heads off over the level crossing and the Signalman asks where he’s going next. It’s time to follow the track again to find out.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewNext Thomas stops at the water tower to fill his boiler and the children call out to see where he’s going. Then we follow the track over to the next page.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewThomas’ exciting journey takes him under the bridge and past the cows. They wonder where he’s off to so we follow the track again to see.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewThomas makes his way through the Docks and his friend Cranky the Crane asks where he’s going. Finally it’s time to follow the track one last time to see his destination.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewAnd as it’s a sunny day, Thomas has decided to make his way to the beach and spend the day by the sea.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewWhen you get to the end of the story, it’s time to open it out and see Sodor come to life.

Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey – The Play Scene

The play scene very cleverly makes use of all the pages in the book. You can carefully open them out to create a large play-mat. The box that Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey comes in also contains some cardboard characters.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - ReviewChildren can use the characters to re-enact Thomas’ journey, or invent their own stories. What I loved the most about the play scene was that both girls were happy to play on it together. It’s big enough for them to do their own thing if they don’t want to play the same game.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review

Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey – The Characters

I love the detail in Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey because on the other side of each page, you will find some information about all the characters and places. The girls enjoyed finding out a bit about them all and incorporated what they’d learnt when they were using the play scene.Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review Thomas' Big Pop-Up Journey - Review-1

Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey – Giveaway

If you have children of a similar age to mine, I bet they can’t wait to get their hands on Thomas’ Big Pop-Up Journey. You can enter the competition to win one via the Rafflecopter below. Please check out my competition terms and conditions before entering. Don’t forget to check out my other competitions too, there are some brilliant prizes up for grabs.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:

90 Comments

  1. Anthony Harrington
    October 15, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    we love Percy best!

  2. October 15, 2016 / 3:17 pm

    We love Thomas. It’s one of those children’s programs I fail to get bored of too and there are so many episodes. The books are fab too and by far my little boys fav. We have been to a Thomas steam railway event and to ride on Thomas was such a great day. I just know my little George would enjoy this as much as your girls did ☺️

  3. sb
    October 15, 2016 / 3:37 pm

    we like Thomas,because he’s the hub

  4. Katie
    October 15, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    I always liked Toby although I’m not really sure why, maybe it’s just because he was different!

  5. Tracy Nixon
    October 15, 2016 / 4:18 pm

    My son likes James because he is red, my son’s favourite colour!

  6. MANDY DOHERTY
    October 15, 2016 / 4:56 pm

    My grandson loves Gordon because he goes really fast!

  7. Rachel Craig
    October 15, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    Thomas, as he has an Uncle Thomas he is really fond of. He was absolutely Delighted when he first was treated to Thomas and Friends merchandise.

  8. October 15, 2016 / 5:13 pm

    This looks great! Lots to keep them in interested in and when it’s laid out it looks big enough for them both to play easily x
    Laura – dear bear and beany recently posted…My Girls…OctoberMy Profile

  9. iain maciver
    October 15, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    we love thomas

  10. Amanda
    October 15, 2016 / 7:21 pm

    I love little Percy 😉

  11. Andrea Fletcher
    October 15, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    We like Thomas.

  12. Angela McDonald
    October 16, 2016 / 3:33 am

    We love Percy because he’s Green!

  13. Sally Collingwood
    October 16, 2016 / 8:32 am

    Love the fat controller, he looks like a jolly chap.

  14. Heather Brannan
    October 16, 2016 / 9:08 am

    It has to be Thomas because he always saves the day!

  15. Ruth Harwood
    October 16, 2016 / 9:22 am

    We love Percy he’s cheeky and fun 🙂

  16. Laura Pritchard
    October 16, 2016 / 9:28 am

    My son loves grumpy Gordon.

  17. Kim Styles
    October 16, 2016 / 12:49 pm

    Thomas is the best -I grew up with him as well as my children

  18. CLAIRE Woods
    October 16, 2016 / 3:45 pm

    Thomas because he’s the best.

  19. Maria Dhillon
    October 17, 2016 / 12:05 am

    Thomas

  20. Margaret Gallagher
    October 18, 2016 / 8:05 am

    We love Gordon as he loves fun

  21. Leanne Lunn
    October 18, 2016 / 9:03 am

    Gordon as he is so grumpy and makes me laugh

  22. Michaela Campbell
    October 18, 2016 / 11:32 am

    The fat controller. Hes so round and jolly

  23. Jodie W
    October 19, 2016 / 1:17 pm

    Cranky the crane, we have a book all about him and its my sons favourite, i read it every day

  24. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    October 21, 2016 / 8:21 am

    I love Thomas because he’s so iconic & I’ve even met him 😉

  25. Katie Sharman
    October 21, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    My son loves a new engine everyday, currently he lobbies hiro.

  26. Jo Glasspool
    October 22, 2016 / 11:05 pm

    We all love Thomas!!

  27. Kellie Steed
    October 23, 2016 / 11:03 pm

    My son loves Hiro because about a ear ago his Daddy was lucy enough to go to Japan with work and he brought back some bullet train toys, which my son is now obsessed with and every time we go on a train he asks if it’s a bullet train. He also has Japanese cousins, so it’s all very exciting for him!

  28. Susan Smith
    October 24, 2016 / 8:36 am

    We all love The fat controller, my little grandson says he looks just like grandad

  29. Michaela Hannah
    October 24, 2016 / 9:44 am

    My son loves James simply because he’s red 🙂

  30. caroline walliss
    October 25, 2016 / 6:21 am

    We love Thomas because he’s always the hero.x

  31. October 25, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    So cute! When the boys were small, one of their favourite books was a Thomas the Tank Engine one that folded out and came with a wind up Thomas. The book turned into a big track for it to run around, so they always knew after reading it, they could play trains.

    Stevie x
    A Cornish Mum recently posted…Favourites Through The DoorMy Profile

  32. Jo Carroll
    October 26, 2016 / 11:57 am

    Thomas has always been our no.1 blue engine. x

  33. Janine Atkin
    October 26, 2016 / 12:42 pm

    i always liked james

  34. Solange
    October 26, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    It has to be Thomas because he’s the hero.

  35. Jo Hutchinson
    October 26, 2016 / 6:18 pm

    The favourite is Thomas because he’s blue and the best.

  36. debbie smith
    October 27, 2016 / 10:25 am

    my son loves cranky xx

  37. Clare Hubbard
    October 27, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    My son loves James and of course Thomas

  38. JULIE WARD
    October 27, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    Thomas has been a favourite with my sons and now their sons, he’s their No1

  39. Kevin Honey
    October 28, 2016 / 12:14 am

    Percy, I have no idea why!

  40. Patience kinch
    October 28, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    Thomas is definitely our favourite…

  41. Mary Duncan
    October 28, 2016 / 10:09 pm

    We like Percy the best because he is cheeky and funny.

  42. Danielle Cresswell
    October 29, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    My son loves James because hes always getting into trouble x

  43. Kim Neville
    October 30, 2016 / 10:34 am

    Our favourite is Thomas

  44. Tracey Mitchell
    October 31, 2016 / 7:10 am

    Lovely book and it has to be Percy.

  45. Heather Morrison
    October 31, 2016 / 12:47 pm

    I’ve always loved the fat controller (as does my son) xx

  46. Lisa Wilkinson
    November 1, 2016 / 2:07 pm

    We love Emily because she’s a girl

  47. Keri brooks
    November 2, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    We love Thomas and my daughter likes the fat controller .x

  48. Zoe Trelfa-porter
    November 2, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    My son loves Thomas, because he’s blue

  49. Laura Harrison
    November 3, 2016 / 6:00 pm

    My nephew loves Gordon. Thank you for the chance xx

  50. michelle o'neill
    November 3, 2016 / 7:17 pm

    the fat contoller , hes always jolly

  51. Kat Allinson
    November 3, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    We love Thomas because he is so cheeky

  52. Rachel Butterworth
    November 3, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Gordon because he’s so grumpy.

  53. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 4, 2016 / 12:26 am

    Thomas because he is the main man

  54. Jenny Prest
    November 4, 2016 / 10:30 am

    My son thinks Cranky the Crane is great!

  55. Eva Appleby
    November 4, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Thomas is so nice

  56. Jenny Rogers
    November 4, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    My goddaughter loves all of the characters, but Thomas is probably just about her favourite.

  57. Susan B
    November 4, 2016 / 4:15 pm

    We all like the Fat Controller. It’s his voice that is rather appealing.

  58. Sheri Darby
    November 4, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    Thomas is our favourite

  59. Rich Tyler
    November 4, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    Thomas, followed by James! he loves cho chos!

  60. EJ Dunn
    November 4, 2016 / 11:50 pm

    I always liked Gordon

  61. jessica cook
    November 5, 2016 / 11:31 am

    My son loves harold because he thinks helicopters are call

  62. Tee simpson
    November 5, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    We love James because hes always getting into trouble just like my son

  63. Wendy Guy
    November 5, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    We love Harold because we would love to take a ride on a helicopter.

  64. Gemma Middleton
    November 5, 2016 / 3:35 pm

    James has always been a favourite in our house, he’s so cheeky!

  65. ADEINNE TONNER
    November 5, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    They are a huge fan of Percy as they find him cool and funny

  66. Victoria Prince
    November 5, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    Percy because he is green!

  67. Rachel King
    November 5, 2016 / 11:32 pm

    Harold the Helicopter

  68. Leila Benhamida
    November 5, 2016 / 11:34 pm

    My daughter loves Thomas as he is as cheeky as her.

  69. Danielle Pooley
    November 6, 2016 / 8:51 am

    We like Thomas because blue is my little boys favourite colour

  70. Emma Fox
    November 6, 2016 / 9:21 am

    My son loves Diesel 10 as he is so mischievous 🙂

  71. Diana
    November 6, 2016 / 9:41 am

    My daughter loves Thomas, because it’s daddy’s favourite too 🙂

  72. Pauline Burroughs
    November 6, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    We love Thomas, he’s just such a lovely character x

  73. Clare Munden
    November 6, 2016 / 3:21 pm

    My son loves James

  74. Nicola Lester
    November 6, 2016 / 4:06 pm

    My grandson Joshua loves Ryan because he has the same name as his Uncle Ry-Ry

  75. Hayley Todd
    November 6, 2016 / 6:16 pm

    My little girl loves James. He’s her favourite as he is her favourite colour!

  76. Pam Francis Gregory
    November 6, 2016 / 6:20 pm

    Thomas of course!

  77. John Jewett
    November 6, 2016 / 6:27 pm

    Thomas the tank engine

  78. Leanne Bell
    November 6, 2016 / 6:58 pm

    Thomas because he is kind and helpful x

  79. Kirsten Barthy
    November 6, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    Emily as she’s a girl

  80. Kathryn vyse
    November 6, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    My children are called Rosie, Alfie and Jack so all share names with characters. The all round favourite would have to be Harold though I think

  81. Jayne Townson
    November 6, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    We like Thomas best.

  82. Laura lawrie
    November 6, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    My son loves Gordon because he is the fastest engine on sodor

  83. Anneka Hulse
    November 6, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    we love Gordon as hes a big engine

  84. Tammy Neal
    November 6, 2016 / 11:13 pm

    we love thomas

  85. paula cheadle
    November 6, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    Thomas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge