Easy baking with Craft and Crumb review and giveaway

I have written many times about the struggle I have with productivity. Working from home is so intensive that I struggle to find the time to take on additional tasks. Sadly one such task is organising birthdays. Don’t get me wrong, I want my girls to have the best birthdays possible. But they are SO demanding! When it’s my husband’s birthday, he’s happy with a chocolate cake. And I love making chocolate cake. We put some sweets on it so the girls are happy, everyone’s a winner. But when it is one of the girls’ birthdays, they want some incredible creation and I just haven’t got the time.

Introducing Craft and Crumb

Call me old fashioned, but I’m not a huge fan of buying a supermarket cake for birthdays. I want people to know that I’ve made an effort. Put in the time and thought to make them a cake. I’m not great at presents, I’m not really a materialistic person so I struggle to know what people will want. But everyone loves cake.

The problem is, this year all Lia wanted for her birthday was a dinoroserous. No, not a dinosaur – not a rhinoceros either, for the record. Just a dinoroserous. Well, she hasn’t got one of those. If anybody sees a dinoroserous wandering the streets, please catch it and deliver it to Lia. But in the meantime, we had many a discussion about cake. And she decided she would rather like a dinosaur cake – purely on the basis that I couldn’t get her a dinoroserous one of course.

But sadly, we’re back to my lack of time. I probably could have put together a rather rubbish dinosaur cake but luckily, I didn’t have to. Craft and Crumb is the brainchild of two mums who were in the same boat as me. Wanting to make homemade birthday cakes, but struggling for time. So, they developed a range of cakes that are easy and quick to make, but they look and taste beautiful.

The Dinosaur Land Cake

Craft and crumb make both complete cake kits and cake decorating kits. I went for the Dinosaur Land complete cake kit. This arrives in a nice big box, with virtually everything you need to make it. You receive all the ingredients except for eggs, milk and butter. You also receive disposable cake cases to bake it in, an icing mix, biscuits to decorate it and even some little plastic dinosaurs and trees to make dinosaur land complete.

Craft and crumb dinosaur land cake review and giveaway

Making the cake was simple. I had to tip the ingredients into a bowl and add the eggs and butter. Then a good mix with an electric mixer and it was done. I was told to make it in two batches to ensure I got the right amounts for each cake layer and cupcake. This made perfect sense. Then I just had to bake it, cool it and get on with decorating.

Craft and crumb dinosaur land cake review and giveaway

If I’m perfectly honest, I didn’t find the cake making process that much simpler than usual. This is purely because I usually use a very simple chocolate cake recipe that is easy and tastes great. But where this kit comes into its own is if you’re not really a baker. My husband isn’t a baker, although he did give it a go once. I don’t really want to talk about it but it’s safe to say it wasn’t pretty. But if I gave him this cake kit, I am convinced he’d be able to bake a masterpiece. Come to think of it, so would Libby.

The decorations

For me, the decorating part of the kit was where Cake and Crumb came into their own. The icing was just as easy to make as the cake itself. The chocolate icing mixture was provided and I all I had to do was mix it with butter and milk.

Craft and crumb dinosaur land cake review and giveaway

I followed the instructions to arrange the cake and cupcakes as suggested and ice the cake. Then, I just had to put the chocolate fingers around the edge, crush up the biscuits and arrange the dinosaurs and trees on top. And I think you’ll agree, it looks pretty impressive. The only slight issue I had was that there weren’t quite enough finger biscuits to go around the outside of the cake, I’d probably buy a few more if you are going to use this kit.

Craft and crumb dinosaur land cake review and giveaway

Win a brand new Craft and Crumb biscuit kit

Craft and Crumb have recently launched a new range of biscuit kits. They come with everything you need to bake beautiful rocket or magic wand biscuits. They have kindly given me one biscuit kit to give away. The winner can choose between rockets or magic wands. You can enter using the Rafflecopter below. Please read my competition terms and conditions before entering. Don’t forget to check out my other competitions too, there are some brilliant prizes up for grabs.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:
Please note, I was sent some cake kits from Craft and Crumb to allow me to produce an honest review. All views and opinions are mine, all cake is Lia's. I hope she shares it.

68 Comments

  1. Margaret Clarkson
    May 10, 2017 / 7:19 am

    They are all so lovely! I think I would choose the Superhero one.

  2. Tracy Nixon
    May 10, 2017 / 8:19 am

    I would love to buy the THE PRINCESS CASTLE cake kit and make it up with the help of my two girls!!!!

  3. Bev
    May 10, 2017 / 9:50 am

    Superhero or rocket biscuits!

  4. Joanne Beale
    May 10, 2017 / 9:51 am

    Would love the Dinosaur Land

  5. charlotte
    May 10, 2017 / 10:02 am

    the princess castle is soooo cute! i love it

  6. aj
    May 10, 2017 / 10:20 am

    these are lovely, love the superhero one

  7. iain maciver
    May 10, 2017 / 11:33 am

    superhero

  8. Sandra Fortune
    May 10, 2017 / 11:47 am

    Like the princess castle and the superhero !

  9. May 10, 2017 / 1:58 pm

    You may have just saved me! It’s Alice’s birthday soon and whilst I can bake a cake. The icing and making into whatever she decides she wants makes me want to cry. My mum who is wonderful is on holiday and I’m going to have to make it myself. I’m off to see what they do and see if they have something Alice would love x

  10. Karen Usher
    May 10, 2017 / 2:31 pm

    Fairy wand biscuit kit, looks fab for the little princess in my house who wants a princess bday party!

  11. Harline parkin
    May 10, 2017 / 2:37 pm

    Love the rainbow unicorn

  12. Hali Kinson
    May 10, 2017 / 5:53 pm

    Rocket biscuits love these!!

  13. clair downham
    May 10, 2017 / 5:56 pm

    the sweetshop

  14. Katie
    May 10, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    I like the fairy wand biscuit kit

  15. stuart hargreaves
    May 10, 2017 / 8:07 pm

    the horse carousel is our favourite

  16. pete c
    May 10, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    I would choose the Lion Kit

  17. Susan Smith
    May 10, 2017 / 9:41 pm

    The Princess Castle for me

  18. Kerry Kilmister
    May 10, 2017 / 10:47 pm

    Oh I love the Horse Carousel

  19. Angela Treadway
    May 11, 2017 / 12:10 am

    dinosaur land looks delicious x

  20. Solange
    May 11, 2017 / 3:47 am

    I love the princess castle.

  21. Andrea A
    May 11, 2017 / 8:45 am

    I’d get the Dinosaur Land kit

  22. May 11, 2017 / 9:05 am

    It looks amazing Nat! I love that Lia wanted a dinoroceros (?), I will keep my eye out for one of those!! Happy birthday Lia! X

  23. Eleanor Beavan
    May 11, 2017 / 11:11 am

    I would choose the Superhero ! what a great site I’ve never heard of them before.

  24. Jo Carroll
    May 11, 2017 / 12:09 pm

    The Lion with the cupcake paws is very clever.

  25. Martina Pichova
    May 11, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    Wow – I love the Princess castle.

  26. Helen Tovell
    May 11, 2017 / 12:51 pm

    The sweet shop looks great and is the one I would pick

  27. Caroline Taylor
    May 11, 2017 / 8:33 pm

    The princess castle for my little girl!

  28. amy bondoc
    May 11, 2017 / 9:49 pm

    would have to choose the unicorn one!

  29. T Brailey
    May 11, 2017 / 11:10 pm

    I love the Lion – I have several family birthdays coming up and that would fit anyone of the crazy lot.

  30. May 12, 2017 / 4:40 am

    Hi Nat, this is perfect for busy Mums. I totally agree that supermarket cakes are somewhat lacking, nothing can compare to homemade, even if it is from a kit. I hope it tasted as good as it looks and that Lia had a fab birthday!

    xx
    Debbie recently posted…Embracing Autism Is Easier Said Than DoneMy Profile

  31. Pamela Gossage
    May 12, 2017 / 8:34 am

    I would choose the rainbow unicorn

  32. May 12, 2017 / 10:22 am

    What a fabulous idea. My girls would love the Enchanted Fairy Garden. Will have to remember this when it comes to birthday time! 🙂

  33. Suzanne Jackson
    May 12, 2017 / 11:09 am

    I like the superhero cake

  34. Kerry Taylor
    May 13, 2017 / 6:02 pm

    I’d choose the superhero – I love bright colours!

  35. Jules Eley
    May 13, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    The rainbow unicorn looks amazing and would be a huge hit with my daughter!

  36. Ruth Harwood
    May 14, 2017 / 2:29 pm

    The Princess Castle xx

  37. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    May 15, 2017 / 10:12 am

    Love the fairy wand biscuit kit – I’d definitely want to make some for myself 😉

  38. Rich Tyler
    May 16, 2017 / 3:55 pm

    Dinosaur Land 🙂

  39. Lisa Parker
    May 17, 2017 / 1:09 pm

    I would choice the The Princess castle cake as it is my birthday soon and I always wanted to be a Princess x

  40. Sarah Ann
    May 19, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    I would choose Dinosaur Land – I love it! Would make the perfect birthday cake!

  41. jo liddement
    May 20, 2017 / 4:15 pm

    The Enchanted Fairy Garden cake is beautiful both for children and adults.

  42. claire griffiths
    May 23, 2017 / 12:58 am

    rocket biscuits

  43. maria blythin
    May 29, 2017 / 2:45 pm

    i love the superhero cake x

  44. Sadiyya Maryam
    May 30, 2017 / 2:58 am

    I am hopeless at baking I lack total confidence much to my 6 year old daughters dismay. If I were to win I would let her choose something we can make together!

  45. Adrian Bold
    May 31, 2017 / 12:45 am

    I would go for the Rocket Biscuits!

  46. Lisa Wilkinson
    May 31, 2017 / 10:39 am

    The Rainbow Unicorn Kit for my little girl’s birthday

  47. Natalie Newham
    May 31, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    The gluten-free Superhero cake mix 🙂

  48. Margaret gallagher
    June 1, 2017 / 9:50 pm

    Love the unicorn one
    My nieces eould love it

  49. Sharon Arnott
    June 2, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    The Sweet shop cake

  50. donna l jones
    June 2, 2017 / 10:12 pm

    Would love the Dinosaur Land

  51. ellie spider
    June 3, 2017 / 12:02 am

    the rainbw unicorn would be amazing

  52. Sarah Parker
    June 3, 2017 / 9:46 am

    I’d choose the superhero 🙂

  53. Stewart Biddle
    June 3, 2017 / 1:29 pm

    The figurine toppers look amazing!

  54. Laura Pritchard
    June 3, 2017 / 3:16 pm

    I’d pick the dinosaur set, like you, as my son is dinosaur mad!

  55. Lesley Bain
    June 3, 2017 / 7:04 pm

    What a fantastic idea! I love the rainbow unicorn cake, and so would my granddaughter Amelia 🙂 x

  56. Kat Allinson
    June 3, 2017 / 8:03 pm

    I would choose the Rainbow Unicorn

  57. Debi Newman
    June 3, 2017 / 8:14 pm

    The Rainbow unicorn x

  58. Kirsten Barthy
    June 3, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    My daughter would love the princess castle one

  59. Sheri Darby
    June 3, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    Dinosaur Land looks amazing

  60. Louise A
    June 4, 2017 / 12:46 am

    Love the sweetshop cake

  61. Alison Clark
    June 4, 2017 / 6:53 am

    The princess castle- it’s my nieces birthday coming up so we could build it together.

  62. Kim Neville
    June 4, 2017 / 3:11 pm

    My son would love the Superhero

  63. Helen Garner
    June 4, 2017 / 4:01 pm

    I think my little boy would love the soldier cake

  64. Hayley F
    June 4, 2017 / 8:08 pm

    the sweetshop looks yum x

  65. Tee simpson
    June 4, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    I would choose the princess castle cake

  66. Natalie Crossan
    June 4, 2017 / 11:52 pm

    The Sweet shop cake x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge