BrightMinds: Review and Giveaway

This is a collaborative post.

As my girls get older, I’m becoming increasingly aware of the need to buy them educational toys and activities. This seems particularly pertinent in Winter when they’re inside a bit more. Sometimes though, I do despair of the toys on offer. There is far too much unimaginative plastic tat in the world. So when BrightMinds got in touch and asked me if I’d like to review a couple of things from their website I was delighted.

BrightMinds – The Concept

BrightMinds was founded by a former science teacher. All their toys are handpicked to inspire and educate children while they play. This has resulted in a website full of toys, games and activities that parents love as much as the children.

BrightMinds Djeco Foil Mosaics

When I looked through the BrightMinds website, I was immediately drawn to the Foil Mosaics. Libby was given a little mosaic for her birthday and it was by some distance her favourite present. She spent hours on it but unfortunately the pieces were a bit small and she lost a few and didn’t quite get to the end of it.

However the foil mosaics from brighter minds were much better suited to a four year old. The mosaic is quite large and very colourful. The stickers are all a little under 1cm² in size and peel away from the backing very easily.BrightMinds: Review and GiveawayAs Libby was sitting down doing her mosaic after school, we decided to let Lia have a go at it although it is recommended for children aged 3+. I’m so glad she did try it because it was a real revelation. Lia managed to complete her own mosaic with virtually no help from me. Her fine motor skills were amazing and it’s not something I would have online pharmacy uk thought to do with her before. She definitely needs more educational toys and activities to stimulate her learning.BrightMinds: Review and Giveaway

BrightMinds Djeco Fireflies Foil Pictures

BrightMinds sells a range of Djeco products and we were sent the Djeco Fireflies Foil Pictures to try out. These are aimed at children aged 7-13, so I did worry a bit that Libby wouldn’t be able to do them.BrightMinds: Review and GiveawayHowever whilst older children will definitely find them easier, this was a lovely activity for Libby and I to do together. First you take off the tiny white stickers using the tool provided. Each one is numbered, so you know what colour foil needs to go on it.

When you’ve removed a sticker, you take a piece of foil and place it onto the sticky area that is left. You need to place it on with the silver side down – I made the mistake of doing it with the coloured side down to start off with and thought it wasn’t working.BrightMinds: Review and GiveawayThen you rub the foil with the other end of the tool, making sure you go right to the edges. When you remove the foil, the colour from it will remain on the picture. The end result is a beautiful, sparkly picture that Libby was particularly proud of. As with the mosaics, I could see her skills developing as we were doing the activity. This is brilliant for fine motor skills.BrightMinds: Review and Giveaway

Win a £50 voucher to spend on the BrightMinds website

BrightMinds are the perfect choice for Christmas presents. You can win a £50 voucher to spend on their website by entering using the Rafflecopter below. Please read my competition terms and conditions before entering. Don’t forget to check out my other competitions too, there are some brilliant prizes up for grabs.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:

92 Comments

  1. Martina Pichova
    November 12, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    I like the K Nex construction sets

  2. emma walters
    November 12, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    my son has the Learning Resources Primary Science Lab Set on his xmas list 🙂 i love that they are educational as well as fun!

  3. Tracy Nixon
    November 12, 2016 / 8:06 pm

    I would treat my boys to the Quercetti Marble Run with Motor because they love marbles and often create their own marble runs using junk materials or other construction kits!

  4. Alison Joyce
    November 12, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    I’d get my daughter the Stepping into Science Thames and Kosmos Little Labs. She’d love this she’s always getting me look up experiments on youtube for us to do together.

  5. Angela Treadway
    November 12, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    Magnetic Dart board x

  6. Corinne Henson
    November 12, 2016 / 10:09 pm

    I really love the Djeco crafts stuff so I would buy some of that for stocking fillers:)

  7. Fiona Paley
    November 12, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    I think the sticky mosaics look lovely and don’t seem like they would be too fiddly for my niece to do.

  8. Margaret Gallagher
    November 12, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    Love Alex Learns to dress and Djeco building bricks -perfect for my nephew and his bany sister

  9. sarah m
    November 12, 2016 / 11:40 pm

    Human Body Anatomy Model because my son love science and says he wants to be a Dr when he grows up 🙂

  10. Jo Hutchinson
    November 13, 2016 / 1:43 am

    My Fairy Garden looks so much fun and educational. the Rainbow in Your Room light projector looks beautiful and doubles as a nightlight.

  11. Jennifer Haden
    November 13, 2016 / 8:53 am

    I’d love the Djeco Glitter dresses Glitter boards for my niece, as I think crafting is such a lovely, calming hobby, great for anyone, old or young 🙂 thanks so much for the chance 🙂 x

  12. November 13, 2016 / 8:56 am

    I love this – my 6 year old was always eager to learn so trying to teach her things was quite easy from a early age. My 3 year old is a different story – she has no concentration at all and gets bored so easily but I really think this would hold her attention especially the mosaic.
    natalie recently posted…Highs and LowsMy Profile

  13. iain maciver
    November 13, 2016 / 11:01 am

    the Quercetti Marble Run with Motor

  14. lucy higgins
    November 13, 2016 / 11:46 am

    I LOVE THE FAIRY DOLL MAKING KIT! AND LEARN TO CROCHET, WHAT A GREAT WEBSITE i HAD NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE

  15. Annabel Greaves
    November 13, 2016 / 12:07 pm

    I love the electronics sets

  16. Hayley F
    November 13, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    I would buy the Djeco Topanifarm Cubes for infants. They are so cute but also allows children to learn x

  17. Laura Pritchard
    November 13, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    I’d get my son the John Adams Eyeball Dissection Gross Science Kit – I would have loved this as a kids and it’s gruesome & engaging enough to really teach him about the eye.

  18. November 13, 2016 / 3:28 pm

    Aww, the girls did a fab job of those! My 5 year old loves doing sticker mosaics, I love the foil ones too, they look brilliant. X

  19. laura stewart
    November 13, 2016 / 4:31 pm

    i would buy the Rainbow in Your Room for my daughter

  20. Lindsey Stuart
    November 13, 2016 / 5:21 pm

    Aww wow I love the look of the fairy garden how very cute! The little washing line is super cute, my daughter Heidi would spend many happy hours with this 🙂

  21. Alana Walker
    November 13, 2016 / 5:22 pm

    I would buy some of the maths products like the Learning Resources Maths Mat Challenge and the Learning Resources Electronic Flashcard Maths because my eldest son is a maths whizz. The products look great quality and very educational.x

  22. amy bondoc
    November 13, 2016 / 6:39 pm

    id buy a Planetarium for my daughter, shes really into astronomy

  23. Marianne Hopwood
    November 13, 2016 / 6:47 pm

    These look great 🙂

  24. Andrea Fletcher
    November 13, 2016 / 7:18 pm

    Melissa and Doug monster bowling looks good fun.

  25. Stacey Carnell
    November 13, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    I love the Large Puzzle Train, I absolutely love wooden toys and bright colours 🙂

  26. Jules Eley
    November 13, 2016 / 8:20 pm

    I would buy both my girls the Sticky Mosaics Enchanted Forest they would love them.

  27. Jennifer Toal
    November 13, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    My fairy garden

  28. Pam Francis Gregory
    November 13, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Chem Lab C2000 Thames and Kosmos looks so interesting

  29. Kellie Steed
    November 13, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    I would get the Learning Resources Pretend & Play Calculator Cash Register for my son for Christmas. I love it because it reminds me of one that I had as a kid, but also he’s asked me for a “shop” for Christmas. Would love to win the voucher, thanks for the chance.

  30. helen tovell
    November 13, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    I would but the John Adams Chemistry Set as my daughter has rally taken a like in to science

  31. Graham Ross
    November 13, 2016 / 10:39 pm

    I like the Rainbow in Your Room ,looks very bright and cheerful

  32. Solange
    November 14, 2016 / 2:42 am

    I love the electronics sets.

  33. Amanda
    November 14, 2016 / 7:07 am

    The Magentic Dart Board as my son would absolutely love that

  34. Zowee Moore
    November 14, 2016 / 9:55 am

    My kids would love most of the board games on the website! I would pick Brain Box for sure!!!

  35. aj
    November 14, 2016 / 1:38 pm

    Think words will get our brains working.

  36. tracy sinclair
    November 14, 2016 / 7:34 pm

    I would choose the Gizmo Static Science as my son loves teaching my Granddaughter about how things work etc and this looks like it would be great for that also My Fairy Garden as my Granddaughter loves fairies and this looks so cute x

  37. Marie Evans
    November 14, 2016 / 10:54 pm

    Wow what to choose? I have chosen , DragonWood this would be great for my grandsons birthday he is so into Dragons.Brain Box Board Game & Kids Charades are both games that i would keep at our house so when all the grandchildren visit we can play & Nanny & Granddad too lol.

  38. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 15, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    The City of Zombies Maths Game looks fun but educational

  39. Jo Carroll
    November 15, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    The Brain Box Board game looks like fun.

  40. Sarah Reed
    November 16, 2016 / 4:31 pm

    I would buy a microscope. I remember having one when I was little and I loved it! Spend a lot of time collecting things from the garden to inspect with it!

  41. JULIE WARD
    November 16, 2016 / 11:09 pm

    The Tidlo kitchen station, little grandson would love it, he can make me a meal on it, better not be burnt

  42. Katie b
    November 16, 2016 / 11:41 pm

    My niece would love the creativity for kids fashion headbands and the buttonbag learn how to sew suitcase is so cute too!

  43. MANDY DOHERTY
    November 17, 2016 / 4:11 pm

    I’d get the Pintoy Workbench for my grandsons

  44. claire griffiths
    November 19, 2016 / 1:03 am

    i would buy the Alex Crafts Fold And Fly set

  45. Lynn Heath
    November 20, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    The tap tap space art would be well used by my son!

  46. Fiona jk42
    November 20, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    I love the “Learn to dress kitty” and the lacing beads – perfect for my little granddaughter

  47. Pauline jaconelli
    November 21, 2016 / 12:15 am

    Wow there is just so much to choose from. I love all the wooden toys for my youngest who’s almost 2 amongst other things and for my oldest at 8 the science toys look great

  48. Alison Johnson
    November 21, 2016 / 12:20 am

    The shape sorting clock for my Granddaughter. It would teach her both shapes & telling the time.

  49. Susan Smith
    November 21, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    Would choose Rainbow in your room and kitchen science

  50. michelle o'neill
    November 22, 2016 / 7:16 pm

    my grandaughter would love the Great Gizmo Volcano Making Kit

  51. Michaela Hannah
    November 26, 2016 / 7:07 am

    I like the cake sorting shape stand

  52. Sam McKean
    November 26, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    We would love the Cambridge Brainbox Primary Plus 2 Kit, we love learning and building toys in this house and something that all the family can enjoy together.

  53. Jade Hewlett
    November 26, 2016 / 3:18 pm

    Rory’s Story Cubes Original as it looks good for the children’s imagination and fun

  54. bella bazley
    November 26, 2016 / 9:05 pm

    I love the walkie talkies and the telescope, great for getting kids outdoors and encouraging them to look at the world around them. They can play at being spies too 😉

  55. Christine Caple
    November 29, 2016 / 10:35 am

    The Melissa & Doug Shopping Trolley would be a great addition to my granddaughter’s kitchen and other items

  56. olivia Kirby
    November 29, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    I like the Learning Resources 10 on the Spot! Ten Frame Game for my son as he really enjoys practising his number skills.
    The Djeco Washable Marker Pens look great too, nice colours and good quality

  57. Janine Atkin
    November 29, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    id buy the City of Zombies Maths Game in the hope it gets my son interested in maths again

  58. lorraine stone
    November 29, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    Creativity for Kids Designed by You ~ it is a fashion kit ~ Looks great.

  59. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    November 30, 2016 / 12:23 am

    I’d buy a bookmark dictionary for each of my daughters as they both love reading

  60. kimberley ryan
    November 30, 2016 / 12:06 pm

    I would buy the teaching watches x 3 for my three youngest children (2 blue and 1 red), I love these because they would make learning to tell the time much easier and they are water resistant with a velcro strap, so really child friendly too

  61. Jodie A Harvey
    November 30, 2016 / 3:58 pm

    i would get some Mosaic Kits for my daughter, shes so creative!

  62. Rachel Butterworth
    November 30, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    The Learning Resources Primary Science Lab Set and the 4M Great Gizmo Volcano Making Kit. My nephew is only four but he is so interested in science and experiments, so these would be great (supervised of course).

  63. Kim Neville
    December 1, 2016 / 9:03 am

    I would get the Anatomy Model for my son as he is just starting to learn at school and will find very useful

  64. hannah wood
    December 1, 2016 / 12:56 pm

    Maths Times Tables Multibandz Wristbands

  65. Kat Allinson
    December 1, 2016 / 5:28 pm

    I would buy the ez fort original

  66. beryl Johnson
    December 2, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    craft kits to encourage creativity

  67. Sharon H
    December 3, 2016 / 2:54 am

    I like the look of the Design and Drill centre and Camelot Junior but there are so many great things. Really love this company.

  68. Jessica Cook
    December 3, 2016 / 3:06 pm

    I would love the Thames and Kosmos First Chemistry Set

  69. December 3, 2016 / 3:29 pm

    I would buy the Human Body learning cube, 4M Great Gizmo glow space and mould and paint for my son and John Adams fuzzy felt farm animals and Djeco The Princess and her frog jigsaw puzzle for my daughter

  70. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    December 3, 2016 / 4:21 pm

    Can’t decide – there are so many things to choose from. Maybe some story cubes and bingo

  71. Richard Tyler
    December 3, 2016 / 4:29 pm

    Big Jigs Junior Carpenter Tool Set – he learn a trade!

  72. Sheri Darby
    December 3, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    We love K Nex

  73. gemma middleton
    December 3, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    City Of Zombies Maths Game looks like something that would be great for my maths boffin son!

  74. Jacqueline Chapman
    December 4, 2016 / 12:33 am

    I’d buy the rainbow-in-your-room. There are so many fab things it’s really difficult to choose!

  75. Natalie Crossan
    December 4, 2016 / 5:39 am

    Big Jigs Junior Carpenter Tool Set xx

  76. Kirsty Woods
    December 4, 2016 / 8:25 am

    I would buy an Ultimate Art Set for my daughter, she is a budding artist and would love this

  77. donna l jones
    December 4, 2016 / 11:42 am

    I really love the Djeco crafts stuff the children would like these

  78. Derek Wilson
    December 4, 2016 / 11:44 am

    Love the Rainbow in your Room set.

  79. Jo McPherson
    December 4, 2016 / 12:30 pm

    There’s lots to choose from, but I love the Melissa & Doug Self-Correcting Letter Puzzles, great idea

  80. Kat Glynn
    December 4, 2016 / 3:12 pm

    I would get a couple of the art sets, my son loves painting and drawing.

  81. Nancy Bradford
    December 4, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    I’d choose the ultimate art set for my drawing mad little girl.

  82. carol boffey
    December 4, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    the rainbow in your room set

  83. Tricia Cowell
    December 4, 2016 / 5:17 pm

    Brainbox Dinosaurs – my Grandson would love it

  84. Kim Styles
    December 4, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    I would love to buy the Djeco Big box of colours

  85. Jayne Townson
    December 4, 2016 / 7:47 pm

    If I won, I would buy the 4M Great Gizmo Volcano Making Kit for my son, as he would have lots of fun and it’s a great way to learn. I would also get the Djeco Big box of colours, as it has lots to choose from.

  86. Kirsteen Mackay
    December 4, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    I’d buy the Anatomy model and electronics kit

  87. Diana
    December 4, 2016 / 10:14 pm

    GeoSafari Jr. My First Microscope, my daughter would love it

  88. Leanne Bell
    December 4, 2016 / 11:58 pm

    I love the Rainbow in your room – my Daughter would be very happy with one of these x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge