Toddlebike2 – Review & Giveaway

When Libby was tiny, a friend of mine was kind enough to send us a Toddlebike for her birthday. At the time I’d never heard of Toddlebike, but it has since gone on to become probably the most used toy in our household.

Loch Leven & Loch of the Lowes

Photo courtesy of Melanie Chadd Photography

Toddlebike is designed to be the prequel to a balance bike. It teaches very young children to sit down on the bike and scoot along. And recently, Toddlebike has had a makeover. We’ve been lucky enough to be sent the Toddlebike2 to review.Toddlebike-2-review-2

Toddlebike2

The Toddlebike2 is light, easy to climb onto and easy to steer. The handlebars are closer to the seat than the previous model, and the seat is more centralised. The bike is so light that Lia is able to carry it herself. It comes in a selection of colours – racing red, midnight blue or pinky pink like Lia’s. Toddlebike-2-review-6Toddlebike-2-review-5When Lia first got on the Toddlebike, she found it quite difficult to get used to. And the people at Toddlebike say that this is perfectly normal. But as a seasoned Toddlebike expert, when Toddlebike2 made its appearance, Lia was off on it like a rocket.Toddlebike-2-review-3Before Lia’s new Toddlebike2 arrived, we did have the odd fight over the Toddlebike. Libby is much too big for it now and she knows it. She recently learnt to ride a bike without stabilisers but she still loves to ride both the toddlebike and her balance bike. Perfect for racing around the decking. Toddlebike-2-review-1

Progression from Toddlebike to balance bike

I haven’t been asked to mention this but Libby is the perfect advert for the effectiveness of Toddlebike. Once she had mastered her Toddlebike as a tiny tot, she moved on to riding a balance bike. It wasn’t long before she was bombing around on the balance bike at the speed of light and we knew she was ready for pedals.Toddlebike-2-review-4She actually had a peddle bike before her balance bike, but she had stabilisers on it. Once she had mastered toddlebike and her balance bike, taking the stabilisers off her pedal bike was surprisingly easy.

Toddlebike2 Video

To show how versatile the Toddlebike2 is, we decided to take it off-road at the park. I didn’t think pictures would do it justice, so here’s a little video of the Toddlebike2 in action.

Toddlebike2 Giveaway

If you know a little tot who would love a Toddlebike2, you can win one via the Rafflecopter below. Please read my competition terms and conditions before entering. Don’t forget to check out my other competitions too, there are some brilliant prizes up for grabs.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:

66 Comments

  1. October 24, 2016 / 8:26 am

    It looks brilliant! Great to bridge that gap between ride on and balance bike. A loved his balance bike, it’s great to get them active on wheels early on. Xx
    Jenny recently posted…Making Time With JORD WatchesMy Profile

  2. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    October 24, 2016 / 8:46 am

    Take them to watch other family members take part in sports & they will soon take an interest

  3. Tracy Nixon
    October 24, 2016 / 8:52 am

    There are plenty of groups around where you can take little ones to become involved in sports, for example, I took my boys along to a group that ran weekly soccer training for toddles! (My boys were 18 months!). There are also swimming groups for toddlers. Also joining in with these sports yourself encourages you children to get involved too. So buy a bike and go cycling to gether or a scooter and go scootering together – then you will both become more active!

  4. Rachel Craig
    October 24, 2016 / 9:00 am

    It hey tend to like to be involved with family, so other family members can play outdoors with the children maybe with a ball. Can gradually introduce them to football. Toys :- sports related and appropriate for children. Taking them to watch sports, particularly if family or friends participating in the sport.

  5. Rachel Craig
    October 24, 2016 / 9:46 am

    Prince William and Kate now have two small children, one toddling. Also William and Kate I believe are Ambassadors for Sports. Maybe they could allow the Public to see how they have / are introducing their little ones to Sports. As that may encourage the Public to become more involved in Sports themselves, and with their family etc.

    Maybe more needs to be available as well as advertised locally for families. So that they have the information and Opportunities to get involved with Sports. As many people live busy life due to work / employment, commuting, family commitments, Caring Commitments etc, etc.

    Children like to be active, so it is good to get them involved from a young age. Opportunities need to be available, accessible, affordable, etc, etc.

  6. iain maciver
    October 24, 2016 / 9:46 am

    take them to watch maybe

  7. Peter Watson
    October 24, 2016 / 1:29 pm

    make sure they know how to kick a ball

  8. Sue McCarthy
    October 24, 2016 / 5:24 pm

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize to donate to charity, to go to Romania.

  9. Andrea Fletcher
    October 24, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    Play lots of different ball games with them.

  10. Katie
    October 24, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Just encourage them to play outside as much as possible

  11. Amanda
    October 25, 2016 / 1:40 am

    Play lots of different types of sports with them and try to notice which ones they particularly enjoy

  12. caroline walliss
    October 25, 2016 / 6:19 am

    I watch alot of sports and play some, i find that kids follow their parents so it’s good to set a good example.x

  13. amy bondoc
    October 25, 2016 / 8:33 am

    i have found if i also do the activity my kids usually follow suit!

  14. Lauren Fox
    October 25, 2016 / 9:21 am

    I find they are more interested when we join in! Sooo we try to get out as much as possible 😀 xx

  15. Liam Bishop
    October 25, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Join in with them. They’ll soon want to play as well and learn how it’s done.

  16. Kayleigh White
    October 25, 2016 / 11:29 am

    Get them out and about as much as possible. Don’t encourage them to spend too much time in front of a tv or games console (iPad etc).

  17. laura stewart
    October 25, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    teach them everything you know x

  18. Jamie Edwards
    October 25, 2016 / 9:17 pm

    My son watched quite a bit of the Olympics and Paralympics and has become quite obsessed! 🙂

  19. Ruth Harwood
    October 26, 2016 / 9:54 am

    try to get them to join a few clubs and find the one they love xx

  20. Jo Carroll
    October 26, 2016 / 1:33 pm

    Try to encourage them to try out as many different sports as they can when they are young and don’t pigeon hole them into following just the one if they happen to show some promise at it as their minds and bodies develop so will their abilities at other things…make it all fun and enjoyable.

  21. Solange
    October 26, 2016 / 1:39 pm

    Play lots of different types of sports with them.

  22. Tricia Cowell
    October 27, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    My young 2 year old Grandson watches his big brother playing football, and he wants to join in, it won’t be long before he’s playing too

  23. Janine Atkin
    October 30, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    let them choose their sport and let them try out as many as they like until they find the right one for them, without being pushy

  24. Clair Dukes
    October 30, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    If you approach sport/sports in a negative way it will allow for the child to believe it’s not worth trying or participating. My children really enjoy sports but all lacked confidence so did need that encouragement and the self-belief to continue. My son is a keen rower, sailor and rugby player whereas his brother is brilliant at basketball.

  25. sb
    October 31, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    play the sport with them

  26. Kate Leather
    November 1, 2016 / 10:44 am

    Just get them involved and aware of as many sports and activities as possible x

  27. Stevie
    November 1, 2016 / 3:25 pm

    We live on the moors so there’s loads of hill valleys to ride down.

  28. Michaela Campbell
    November 2, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    Take them to watch live sports

  29. Fiona jk42
    November 3, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    I think you just have to involve them in whatever sport or activity you enjoy doing. I took my kids hiking or rambling pretty much every weekend in good weather, and when my son & daughter (then aged 13 & 11) wanted to learn to snowboard I took lessons with them so that we could all go together.

  30. ADEINNE TONNER
    November 5, 2016 / 7:14 pm

    I find that if you give them various choices of sports to try and even if your not keen on the sport but they would like to try it then you should encourage them to try it.

  31. Kat Allinson
    November 10, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    Let them see other family members doing activities and also friends

  32. Rachel Butterworth
    November 11, 2016 / 8:35 pm

    Doing the activities yourself helps.

  33. Claire Sutherland
    November 11, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    Myself and my husband are both active so we take them to the gym with us and there are classes for children there

  34. Maureen M
    November 12, 2016 / 3:43 pm

    Introduce them to as many sports as possible & make it FUN !!

  35. Judith Allen
    November 12, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    I think it helps if they see adults taking part in sports. Not a sport, I’m not sporty, but my daughter would watch me at a belly dance class for a few minutes every week, and now she’s 25 she’s awesome at it!

  36. Richard Tyler
    November 13, 2016 / 2:04 am

    Let them try new things to see what they enjoy out in garden etc

  37. pete c
    November 13, 2016 / 5:16 pm

    even if they cant partake take them with you when you do, so they get accustomed to it to remove any fear

  38. Sarah Luck
    November 14, 2016 / 3:27 pm

    start at a young age 🙂

  39. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 15, 2016 / 3:38 pm

    Lead by example and take part in the activities.

  40. kimberley ryan
    November 17, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Make it fun, introduce them slowly

  41. Kim Neville
    November 18, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    Playing with their friends in the garden or at the park they pick up new skills.

  42. Wendy Guy
    November 19, 2016 / 8:53 am

    We always participate with them. Either by playing on watching. Encouraging constantly.

  43. donna l jones
    November 19, 2016 / 9:00 am

    encourage them to try different things

  44. Jodie W
    November 19, 2016 / 9:25 am

    Just give them the opportunity to try things out. My son loves throwing at the moment, so we do a lot of throwing balls into washing baskets, boxes, to practise his aim (and mine!).

  45. jessica cook
    November 19, 2016 / 10:03 am

    take part in sports with them to keep them interested and learn from you

  46. Jo McPherson
    November 19, 2016 / 10:38 am

    Play with them, and encourage it from a young age

  47. Keith Dixon
    November 19, 2016 / 1:51 pm

    Always take them with you to your sports.

  48. Gemma Middleton
    November 19, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    I think for many reason, it’s so important to get your children interested in sports. Play sports with them, when you go to the beach take balls and cricket sets etc. Competitiveness is so important and once they get the bug they will want to compete at sport regularly (unless you have trained them to spend hours a day on ipads etc.

  49. Jane Middleton
    November 19, 2016 / 8:56 pm

    get them to try different sports out so they can find one they like and they’re good at

  50. Hayley Colburn
    November 19, 2016 / 11:50 pm

    Interacting with other kids, they always want to join in, I’m lucky enough to have a big family so there’s always a bigger kid to help get them interested

  51. Sallyanne Metcalfe-Mullins
    November 20, 2016 / 2:48 am

    I go to places with other friends and their children, so we go watch Bella having a swim lesson, or Joe and Sam playing rugby!

  52. Lucy Chester
    November 20, 2016 / 9:04 am

    By modelling and doing a sport yourself, my partner runs and our son always wanted to go out with dad

  53. Victoria Prince
    November 20, 2016 / 9:53 am

    Lead by example 🙂 do the sports yourself, and encourage them to have a go but don’t put pressure on them

  54. Dawn Samples
    November 20, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    It helps to be a good example and do some sport yourself. Also to encourage them to try lots of sports to find a sport they really enjoy x

  55. Susan B
    November 20, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    Make outdoor activities and sports family activities so the young ones will observe others having fun and want to join in.

  56. Lorna wils
    November 20, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    Take them to parks where there are other children using little tricycle

  57. Kat Glynn
    November 20, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    I think watching other family members participating in sports really makes them want to try it for themselves 🙂

  58. natalee gosiewski
    November 20, 2016 / 9:05 pm

    sports help with coordination

  59. Kirsty Woods
    November 20, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    No pressure, make it fun

  60. Jo Hutchinson
    November 20, 2016 / 11:23 pm

    Have the whole family join in and make it fun.

  61. Emma Fox
    November 20, 2016 / 11:30 pm

    We have attended lots of open days where sports clubs have opened their doors to children. My son has had lots of fun at tennis tots and his favourite Ninja tots 🙂 He’s a Ninja Turtle in the making!!!

  62. Pauline jaconelli
    November 20, 2016 / 11:33 pm

    Getting them out and about a lot, joining lots of different kids clubs and also if they have siblings they can watch and learn

  63. Leanne Bell
    November 20, 2016 / 11:51 pm

    Get the whole family involved and make it fun x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge