Yellodoor Child’s First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway

Last week when I was running with Bubbles, she got spooked by a car and bolted in front of me. We were running on tarmac that was old and bumpy and I ended up ripping quite a significant amount of skin off my hands and knees. The only first aid items I had available were the ones I’d used for my ultramarathon, which made me realise that I really needed to get a child’s first aid kit.

The Yellodoor Child’s First Aid Kit

Had it been one of the girls that had got hurt, I would have felt terrible about being so unprepared. By chance, this week I was asked by Yellodoor to review a child’s first aid kit. This is a full first aid kit that is specifically designed with children in mind. It is available from Amazon here:

Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayIt has everything you could possibly need to treat both minor injuries and minor illness at home. The full list of contents is here:

  • 3 sterile wipes (alcohol free)
  • Plasters of assorted sizes including 16 Humpty Dumpty plasters
  • Medicine spoon with measurements printed on it
  • Reward stickers
  • Humpty Dumpty finger puppet
  • 2 sachets of burn gel
  • Absorbent dressing (non-stick)
  • Bandage
  • First aid scissors
  • Adhesive tape
  • Eye / wound wash
  • Digital thermometer
  • Medicated pads to relieve stings
  • Information leaflet

The whole lot comes in an eye-catching carry case with a Humpty Dumpty design. You can also buy a refill so you don’t have to buy a whole new kit when you use up the contents. Humpty Dumpty comes separately from the carry case but he fits quite nicely inside. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway

Why buy a child’s first aid kit?

The contents of the Yellodoor child’s first aid kit are very similar to those you’d find in a normal first aid kit. But the big difference is that they’re aimed at children – and they’re fun. It’s never an easy time when a child hurts themselves and a standard first aid kit can look a bit scary. It’s so much better to turn to a cheerful little pouch with fun contents. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayI read a great blog post recently about how to administer medicine to children. Emma had some brilliant tips and I agree with her – it’s really difficult! For me though, even something as simple as giving the children vitamins can be a bit of a nightmare. I’m never convinced I’m giving exactly the right amount. So Having a measuring spoon with such clear print on it is really useful. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway It measures out both 5ml and 10ml which is perfect for us, since Libby needs to take a higher dose than Lia due to their ages. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayThe plasters were a big hit in this house too. Both girls keep miraculously finding invisible scratches on them so they have an excuse to ask for a Humpty Dumpty plaster. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayYellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway They also love the reward stickers and I think they’re a great idea. Both girls are much more likely to stay calm and cooperative if they think there’s something in it for them – and what child doesn’t love stickers?? Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and Giveaway Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayThe other thing that was in the Yellodoor child’s first aid kit that I wasn’t expecting was the digital thermometer. I’ve never had one before, we’ve always relied on touching the children to make sure they weren’t too hot to the touch. This accurate, simple digital thermometer definitely provides added reassurance that if they do have a temperature, you’ll know about it and can seek medical help. Yellodoor Child's First Aid Kit Review and GiveawayIf you’d like to win one of these fabulous child’s first aid kits, you can enter via the Rafflecopter below. Please read my competition terms and conditions before entering. Don’t forget to check out my other competitions too, there are some brilliant prizes up for grabs.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please note, I was sent a Yellodoor child’s first aid kit free of charge for the purpose of this review and I was compensated for my time. This post contains affiliate links. All views and opinions are my own. No children were harmed in the making of this blog post!

 

Follow:

86 Comments

  1. December 4, 2016 / 4:53 pm

    Ahh, this looks fab! I love that it comes with a finger puppet as well as all the medical things, makes it much easier for kids to play with something whilst you sort out injuries. 🙂 x
    Jenny recently posted…November 2016 Blog Stats and Income ReportMy Profile

  2. Susan Smith
    December 4, 2016 / 5:45 pm

    Not to show them you are worrying, and to make a game of cleaning any scrapes

  3. Sue McCarthy
    December 4, 2016 / 6:14 pm

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize for charity, to go to Romania.

  4. Graham Ross
    December 4, 2016 / 6:26 pm

    Try to make them laugh when you are tending their cuts and grazes

  5. iain maciver
    December 4, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    try and not be too serious about it so they don’t get worried

  6. Barbara Handley
    December 4, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    Do not let them see you are worried, and reassure them and try to distract them.

  7. Fiona jk42
    December 4, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    Remember children are actually quite tough. My 5 year-old daughter & her friend got hands full of splinters when playing on an old boat wreck on a beach. It was going to be a long job to remove all the splinters, so I demonstrated how to remove them with a safety pin (we were away from home so I had no tweezers on me). I then let the girls both remove as many splinters as they could themselves. This stopped them crying as they both had to concentrate really hard, and they realised that making a fuss would just prolong the pain.

  8. Emma Salter
    December 4, 2016 / 9:05 pm

    Distraction and not to show them that you are worried.

  9. Martina Pichova
    December 4, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Giving ots of cuddles always helps in our house…

  10. Siobhan Davis
    December 4, 2016 / 9:47 pm

    Lots of cuddles and time, My son has just had his tonsils removed and is in lots of pain but cuddles with mummy really helps xx

  11. Rachel Craig
    December 4, 2016 / 10:05 pm

    Children can remain calm and compliant if Responsible adult expresses empathy, and makes appropriate use of humour. It can then just be a”blip” rather the child become fearful or anxious. Means the child is likely to cope well, and may be able to be helpful to others if they are injured or unwell.

  12. Jo Hutchinson
    December 5, 2016 / 1:06 am

    Try to keep them calm and make them giggle a little.

  13. Ruth Harwood
    December 5, 2016 / 7:39 am

    Distraction is the best way to cope with any illness or injury – play with them, read to them and spend time with them xx

  14. Jennifer Haden
    December 5, 2016 / 9:19 am

    I think trying to keep them distracted and busy, so they don’t get upset helps alot. Lots of colouring books, activities, movies, ect And making sure they rest when they need it

  15. Amy Ripley
    December 5, 2016 / 12:45 pm

    lots of cuddles!

  16. December 5, 2016 / 8:56 pm

    Like you I am a bit rubbish at making sure I have things for an emergency. I may have a plaster somewhere at the bottom of my bag, but thats about it. This looks great and has so much in it. Definitely something I need to invest in x
    Laura – dear bear and beany recently posted…Living Arrows 49/52My Profile

  17. Anthony Harrington
    December 5, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    I try to stay calm and show that i am not panicking to try to reassure

  18. Kirsteen Mackay
    December 5, 2016 / 10:22 pm

    I try to make them laugh and stop them being worried or scared.

  19. Amanda
    December 7, 2016 / 7:03 am

    Stay nice and calm to keep them nice and calm.

  20. claire griffiths
    December 8, 2016 / 1:02 am

    to keep everything calm so they do not worry x

  21. Margaret Gallagher
    December 8, 2016 / 10:08 am

    Patience and love and even temper
    Difficult at times but works in the longrun

  22. December 8, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    Hi Nat, I always carry a first aid kit in my backpack when walking, but have never thought to carry one when out running. It’s a good idea if you are running a distance from home.

    I do like this fun little kit, it’s far more interesting than my boring old red one. I do like the stickers too, I might just have to add some to mine for fun!

    xx
    Debbie recently posted…Marathia, Zakynthos – Through My LensMy Profile

  23. Kelly
    December 9, 2016 / 9:47 pm

    With my little boy, I always try my best to keep calm and not make a big deal about it. We clean up and kiss it better (maybe a little treat if it’s a bad un!)

  24. Kim Styles
    December 10, 2016 / 10:53 am

    hide my panic with upbeat voice

  25. Cheryl Price
    December 13, 2016 / 9:04 am

    If had a fall, dont let them see it, kids seem to go crazy if they see a spot of blood..haha

  26. Jodie A Harvey
    December 14, 2016 / 9:22 am

    Keep calm and try and keep everything normal – distraction helps too!

  27. aj
    December 14, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    Show them a smile and laughter and they will smile and laugh with you.

  28. Lynsey Buchanan
    December 18, 2016 / 5:11 pm

    Try and have a joke with them to distract them.

  29. Carrie-Anne Brown
    December 18, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    Don’t worry, smile and make the injury seem like its not a big deal

  30. Richard Tyler
    December 20, 2016 / 2:13 am

    Lots of cuddles, calpol & distractions

  31. Nigel Rummey
    December 21, 2016 / 2:23 pm

    Lots of cuddles

  32. LAURA WHEATLEY
    December 21, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    DON’T FUSS TOO MUCH, CLL THEM BRAVE MAKE IT LIGHT HEARTED

  33. MANDY DOHERTY
    December 23, 2016 / 10:29 pm

    Try to remain calm so they stay calm

  34. Solange
    December 26, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    Distraction and not to show them that you are worried.

  35. rebecca nisbet
    December 26, 2016 / 10:34 pm

    i found trying to not make a big deal of it. If i do then my daughter really plays on it, but if i laugh or call her a silly sausage or something she laugh with me.

  36. Charlie Brunton
    December 29, 2016 / 2:26 am

    whenever my little sisters had a bump or a scrape i would try my hardest to distract them as soon as possible, acting silly or pulling faces soon had them laughing rather than crying! also character plasters and magic healing kisses work really well!

  37. Harline parkin
    December 29, 2016 / 6:58 am

    I find a teddy or doll to keep them company is a good idea telling them that they can look after there I’ll little friend while I look after them

  38. Jo Carroll
    December 30, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    Sadly, I haven’t got any tips as my little boy wont even let me put cram on his scrapes let alone plasters so I’m really glad you’ve posted this blog piece to read everyone’s advice. x

  39. Olivia Nunn
    December 31, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    I always think distraction with another toy is good 🙂

  40. Kerry Locke
    December 31, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    Having a teddy who is also poorly helps – you can show them how to fix teddy first

  41. Janine Atkin
    January 1, 2017 / 2:10 pm

    keep them distracted

  42. Becky Duffy
    January 1, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Try not to fuss and distract them so they don’t think about it too much xx

  43. Anita hargreaves
    January 3, 2017 / 10:48 am

    Don’t scream and fuss distract them

  44. Becky Yeomans
    January 3, 2017 / 11:14 am

    A hug and something fun to do to take their mind off illness/injury!

  45. Minnie Rose
    January 3, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    Cuddles, wet paper towels/flannels and ice packs! 🙂 x

  46. Anthea Holloway
    January 3, 2017 / 6:40 pm

    Keep very calm and don’t make a big deal out of it!

  47. Victoria Prince
    January 4, 2017 / 8:51 am

    Try not to make a big deal out of it, deal with the situation quickly, quietly and calmly and then try and distract them 🙂

  48. gemma hendry
    January 5, 2017 / 12:38 pm

    loads of cuddles n kisses n praising while you deal with their pain

  49. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    January 5, 2017 / 3:34 pm

    Bravery stickers!

  50. Katie Skeoch
    January 5, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    A big hug & magic plasters

  51. Tricia Cowell
    January 6, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    lots of cuddles and reassurance

  52. Carol Boffey
    January 6, 2017 / 9:12 pm

    Cuddles and no panicking

  53. Jayne Townson
    January 6, 2017 / 9:55 pm

    A big hug and then a rest on the sofa with a blanket and drink.

  54. Diana
    January 6, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    Lots of cuddles 🙂

  55. January 7, 2017 / 1:54 am

    has to be to keep calm yourself – they can sense when you are worried and that makes them worried
    ellie spider recently posted…Veganuary & Dry JanuaryMy Profile

  56. Karen R
    January 7, 2017 / 5:03 am

    Stay calm yourself and don’t make too much fuss of the injury

  57. Maria Jane Knight
    January 7, 2017 / 9:37 am

    Lots of love and cuddles and telling them that although they feel poorly, it wont last forever.

  58. Lisa Wilkinson
    January 7, 2017 / 10:16 am

    To try to stay calm and in control. My little girl is a nightmare. The smallest injury and she is uncontrollable!

  59. paula cheadle
    January 7, 2017 / 11:50 am

    don’t show any fears, even if you have any, try to make a game of most things and tell them what you are doing at all times

  60. Laura Harrison
    January 7, 2017 / 1:31 pm

    Lots of cuddles and keep calm in front of them so they don’t feel scared or panic xx

  61. Amanda Gregory
    January 7, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    Keep it all light and fun. Let them help where they can and certainly never let them see that you are worried.

  62. Rebecca Powell
    January 7, 2017 / 4:26 pm

    Trying to remain calm and lots of cuddles

  63. Emma Davison
    January 7, 2017 / 5:10 pm

    Try and keep calm. They pick up on anxiety v quickly.

  64. Sheri Darby
    January 7, 2017 / 5:38 pm

    A big cuddle and something nice to eat

  65. Caroline Signey
    January 7, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    Be calm and comforting

  66. Sam Parkes
    January 7, 2017 / 7:56 pm

    Can’t beat a hug works with my daughter and she sees it as a badge of honour if needs a plaster.

  67. Stevie
    January 7, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Try to make them laugh. Put them on the worktop helps.

  68. Sarah Robertson
    January 7, 2017 / 9:36 pm

    We always tell my eldest son who is 5 to Miyagi it better. Like on the Karate Kid…rub it better. It was quite funny as we had to take him to the Doctor once and he just said to the Doctor it’s okay I will just Miyagi it and the doctor looked at us like…”eh?”

  69. Kirsty Woods
    January 7, 2017 / 9:53 pm

    A cuddle and a plaster

  70. Hayley Colburn
    January 8, 2017 / 12:02 am

    Trying to make them laugh is a good one but when they are really quite hurt I play the “you’re so brave” card and “lets go find some magic cream” and of course a big cuddle too

  71. Pauline Black
    January 8, 2017 / 7:52 am

    Distraction and keep calm! Themed plasters help to…… Finding Nemo at the moment!

  72. Kim Neville
    January 8, 2017 / 10:19 am

    Lots of cuddles, don’t look shocked and change the subject to something funny

  73. claire davey
    January 8, 2017 / 11:24 am

    keep them distracted and don’t make a big fuss.

  74. Susan B
    January 8, 2017 / 11:26 am

    We talk about brave characters they know from books and films.

  75. Natalie Crossan
    January 8, 2017 / 2:05 pm

    lots of comfort and cuddles xx

  76. justine meyer
    January 8, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    Depending on the injury I tend to stick a plaster on gloss over the injury and take their mind of it x

  77. KARL BOROWY
    January 8, 2017 / 5:15 pm

    get proper training asap

  78. Natalie Gillham
    January 8, 2017 / 5:32 pm

    be calm, positive and reassuring

  79. John Jewett
    January 8, 2017 / 5:35 pm

    Try and distract them from the situation

  80. Carly Belsey
    January 8, 2017 / 6:04 pm

    My step daughter wears an ankle bracelet which “magically” stops her getting upset when she hurts herself

  81. Jo Glasspool
    January 8, 2017 / 6:44 pm

    Try and distract them from it and plenty of cuddles.

  82. Anneka Hulse
    January 8, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    using puppets to distract and explain

  83. Shannon Mostert
    January 8, 2017 / 7:12 pm

    Treat it with a cuddle and tell them it will be ok.

  84. Sarah Parker
    January 8, 2017 / 9:04 pm

    try not to seem too concerned 🙂

  85. sandy
    January 8, 2017 / 11:22 pm

    Distraction all the way! Most of the time they’re not that badly hurt and it’s soon forgotten about. Also if they can be distracted it lets you know that the pain isn’t all that bad which is a relief!

  86. Leanne Bell
    January 8, 2017 / 11:59 pm

    Try to remain calm. If your children see you panic, then they will too x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge