David Charles dresses review and giveaway

When it comes to girls’ fashion, there are few brands more iconic than David Charles Childrenswear. Since 1970, they have been supplying the world’s finest stores including Harrods in London and Saks in 5th Avenue, New York. The designers have dressed Princesses Beatrice and Eugenie and Madonna’s daughter Lourdes among other famous young names. They specialise in luxury dresses for girls aged from 2 to 16 years old. Libby and Lia were delighted to be offered the opportunity to choose a dress each from the Spring / Summer 2019 range. Here’s what they thought of them and how you can win a dress of your choice from the same collection.

Libby’s Royal Blue Winter Floral Maxi Dress

For Libby, beautiful dresses are all about length, floral patterns and floaty fabric. She picked out several dresses that she absolutely loved, and after much deliberation she went for the Royal Blue Winter Floral Maxi Dress. 

The outer fabric has a subtle polka dot pattern with a floral print in watercolour style. The look of it is elegant and formal, with the length currently being all the way to the floor on Libby. It’s a slim fit and she has a little room to grow into it, so I know it will last her a couple of years. 

The arms of the dress are in a cold-shoulder style and there’s a lovely tie around the waist and a ruffle trim. It fastens at the back with a concealed zip that does up easily. Libby has been begging me to let her wear the dress and I look forward to seeing her in it the next time we go somewhere formal. 

Lia’s Rose Pink Ruffle Party Gown

In contrast to her sister, Lia’s choice of dress was very quick and very definite. In her eyes, the only thing better than a pink dress is a pink dress with flowers on. So a pink party dress with a rose ruffle was quite literally her perfect dress. 

The colour of the dress is a very soft, pastel pink. The colour matches throughout the dress from mesh outer to satin roses and shaped lining. The shape of it is beautiful, with a fitted top that flares out towards the bottom and rises to the sides when she whirls around. 

Like Libby’s dress, Lia’s does up with a concealed zip at the back. Whilst we have to help them both to do the zips, they can otherwise managed to get dressed themselves despite the intricate detailing on the dresses. 

Win a dress from the Spring / Summer 2019 collection

I’m so pleased to be able to offer one reader an opportunity to win a dress from the Spring / Summer 2019 collection. Better still, you can choose your favourite dress in any size. If you know a little girl who would feel like a princess in one of these beautiful gowns, you can enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter below. Please read the competition terms and conditions before entering.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Follow:
Please note, these dresses were given to us free of charge to allow me to produce this blog post. All views, opinions and miniature teenagers are my own. The giveaway prize will be provided by David Charles childrenswear.

103 Comments

  1. Amy
    January 30, 2019 / 8:41 am

    So adorable!! The girls clearly love their dresses!!!

  2. nearlydead
    January 30, 2019 / 9:25 am

    I love the Royal Blue Winter Floral Maxi Dress which would suit my grandaughter although it would be my daughter-in-law who makes the final choice.

  3. Martina Pichova
    January 30, 2019 / 9:39 am

    I would probably go for the Royal blue bow pocket dress.

  4. emma walters
    January 30, 2019 / 9:51 am

    the Ivory and Pink Tea Dress is gorgeous!!

  5. Emma Ferguson
    January 30, 2019 / 11:55 am

    I love the Royal Blue floral dress

  6. m1ssingsleep
    January 30, 2019 / 12:15 pm

    Oh my gosh they are all so gorgeous, I do love the colour of the Orange Floral Summer Dress though so bright and vivid x

  7. Annabel Greaves
    January 30, 2019 / 12:28 pm

    My daughter would look amazing in the Ivory and Peony Pink Tea Dress

  8. January 30, 2019 / 12:38 pm

    I love the Navy Frill Back Dress it’s beautiful but they are so many dresses to choose from!

  9. Iain Maciver
    January 30, 2019 / 1:20 pm

    the Royal Blue floral dress

  10. Margaret Gallagher
    January 30, 2019 / 2:08 pm

    Royal blue pocket dress – so much to choose from

  11. Sadiyya Maryam
    January 30, 2019 / 3:03 pm

    Ivory Summer Floral Party Gown is my favourite and I’m sure my daughter’s as well as she loves flowers! Many thanks for this great review and giveaway.

  12. Susan B
    January 30, 2019 / 5:00 pm

    I would choose the Orange Floral Summer Dress from the range.

  13. Katie
    January 30, 2019 / 8:08 pm

    I do like the navy and cream skater dress, but I like the orange floral dress too

  14. Karen Usher
    January 30, 2019 / 10:04 pm

    So many dresses that I love. Royal Blue Tweed Dress is stunning.

  15. Violet Phillippo
    January 30, 2019 / 10:50 pm

    The cream and gold shift dress is gorgeous!

  16. Solange
    January 31, 2019 / 12:59 am

    I love the Sugar Pink Tiered Party Dress.

  17. January 31, 2019 / 11:30 am

    Love the Royal Blue Floral Party Gown, so beautiful!!

  18. January 31, 2019 / 12:47 pm

    Lia has good taste I think I would go for that one too. Although both girls look fantastic

    • monsterid January 31, 2019 / 12:56 pm

      Thank you, it’s a pretty dress isn’t it? She’s all about the pink!
      Nat.x

  19. Aaron Worth
    January 31, 2019 / 10:09 pm

    Orange Floral Summer Dress – this would be great for my daughter on our summer holiday

  20. Amy Bondoc
    February 1, 2019 / 6:19 am

    i love the cream and gold shift dress its stunning

  21. twirlywhirly
    February 1, 2019 / 10:09 am

    beautifully modelled well done to your girls,my granddaughter would look beautiful in these dresses ..Thank you loved your videos!

  22. ANNE BOSTWICK
    February 1, 2019 / 10:36 am

    The Ivory and Peony Pink Tea Dress is so feminine and gorgeous.

  23. Rich Tyler
    February 1, 2019 / 12:06 pm

    Royal Blue Tweed Dress

  24. Claire Nutman
    February 1, 2019 / 12:15 pm

    Blush Pink Brocade Party Dress x Many thank…..

  25. Jo Carroll
    February 1, 2019 / 1:14 pm

    I would go for the bold and bright Orange Floral Summer Dress. x

  26. Ash R
    February 1, 2019 / 9:49 pm

    So many stunning dresses! but i think i would go for the Pink Tweed Birthday Dress – so pretty x

  27. Natalie burgess
    February 1, 2019 / 10:35 pm

    The Royal Blue floral dress xx

  28. Hayley Colburn
    February 1, 2019 / 11:05 pm

    I think I would choose the Navy and Ivory Party Dress for my Daughter Summer

  29. February 2, 2019 / 9:11 am

    Orange Floral Summer Dress is so pretty

  30. T Brailey
    February 2, 2019 / 9:12 am

    I love the Ivory Daisy Tweed Dress also the Orange Floral.

  31. alanawalker1515
    February 2, 2019 / 4:41 pm

    I would love the Navy Ruffle Skater Dress for my daughter.x

  32. Geri Gregg
    February 3, 2019 / 1:38 pm

    The Candy Pink Ballerina Prom Dress is gorgeous! My favourite, my sister would love it

  33. Lois
    February 3, 2019 / 10:11 pm

    The Sugar Pink Tiered Party Dress

  34. Gemma Hendry
    February 4, 2019 / 12:42 pm

    i love the royal blue tweed dress fingers crossed

  35. Michelle Smith
    February 4, 2019 / 7:15 pm

    The royal blue floral deluxe dress is so pretty

  36. Tracy Hanley
    February 4, 2019 / 7:21 pm

    My granddaughter would love the Ivory and Pink Drop Waist Dress

  37. Sally Collingwood
    February 4, 2019 / 7:25 pm

    Champagne Pink Birthday Dress is gorgeous

  38. Amy Denney
    February 5, 2019 / 10:39 am

    I would pick the “ Red grill pretty dress” if I won for my little girl. Thank you for the chance.

  39. Natalie
    February 5, 2019 / 12:34 pm

    I would choose the beautiful Yellow Floral Swing dress for my niece!! So pretty!!

  40. Ursula Hunt
    February 5, 2019 / 12:59 pm

    I would choose the Ivory Summer Floral Party Gown

  41. Lorna Ledger
    February 5, 2019 / 5:17 pm

    Royal Blue Winter Floral Maxi Dress

  42. Suzanne Gaulton
    February 6, 2019 / 10:06 am

    I think you got to try my favourite – the Royal Blue Floral Maxi Dress

  43. February 6, 2019 / 11:39 am

    I suspect Sophie would choose the same dress as Lia although I love the red bow pocket party dress x

  44. Rebecca Cusick
    February 6, 2019 / 9:06 pm

    Theres so many gorgeous dresses I’d probably change my mind if I win. Love the ivory and peony pink tea dress 🙂

  45. Tanya Deliyska
    February 6, 2019 / 11:08 pm

    If I won, I would choose the Blue Frosted Prom Gown.

  46. Helen Stratton
    February 7, 2019 / 9:52 pm

    I would choose the Royal Blue Tweed Dress, but aren’t they all just so beautiful!

  47. Rachael Sexey
    February 9, 2019 / 9:35 am

    The royal blue floral maxi dress for my gorgeous daughter

  48. February 10, 2019 / 4:53 pm

    The floral blue dress is gorgeous! They all are really..I think my daughter would have a lot of fun choosing a dress from their website!

  49. JULIE WARD
    February 11, 2019 / 9:17 pm

    I like the ivory and peony pink tea dress, I would have to ask grandaughter which she would like though

  50. Becky Yeomans
    February 16, 2019 / 3:32 pm

    Rose Pink Ruffle Party Gown

  51. robyn297
    February 16, 2019 / 10:38 pm

    My daughter would love the Rose Pink Ruffle Party Gown

  52. Adrian Price
    February 17, 2019 / 4:02 pm

    Champagne Pink Birthday Dress would suit my great niece May Rose

  53. Sian Buckingham
    February 18, 2019 / 11:36 pm

    I would choose the Red Bow Pocket Dress for my little girl I think!

  54. February 19, 2019 / 3:40 pm

    The Orange Floral Summer Dress, its so pretty

  55. Kim Styles
    February 19, 2019 / 5:36 pm

    I love the Ivory Bluebell Flower Girl Gown

  56. Annaloa Hilmarsdottir
    February 19, 2019 / 11:28 pm

    Ivory Summer Floral Party Gown

  57. ADEINNE TONNER
    February 20, 2019 / 5:40 pm

    I think i would have to pick the beautiful pink check tweed dress

  58. February 21, 2019 / 10:06 am

    I love the navy velvet party dress but I think I’d have to let my little girl to choose!

  59. Emma Howard
    February 21, 2019 / 11:03 am

    I love the Orange Floral summer dress

  60. Kim Neville
    February 21, 2019 / 4:01 pm

    I like the Cream Floral Party Gown

  61. February 21, 2019 / 5:02 pm

    I’d have to let my granddaughter choose but I like the Blue Frosted Prom Gown

  62. Lia Burns
    February 22, 2019 / 3:08 am

    Wow they are truly stunning and really suit your girls!
    I would choose the blush pink brocade party dress for my daughter Jessica. That was a difficult choice because they are all amazing!

  63. AnnaSSS
    February 22, 2019 / 3:56 pm

    Royal Blue Tweed dress .Stunning. Thank you for great giveaway,x

  64. February 22, 2019 / 7:43 pm

    This was a very hard decision but the PINK SUGARPLUM FLOWER GIRL DRESS just about won. Thanks for the chance.

  65. Sam Parkes
    February 22, 2019 / 10:54 pm

    The gold ballerina bridesmaid gown, perfect for my daughters prom

  66. Ema J Lowe
    February 22, 2019 / 10:56 pm

    what a hard decision, they are all lovely, I would go for the Royal Blue Frill Back Dress.

  67. janine atkin
    February 23, 2019 / 11:29 am

    id choose the Cream Floral Party Gown

  68. olivia280177
    February 23, 2019 / 1:15 pm

    I love the Blush Pink Brocade Party Dress for my daughter, it is so pretty!

  69. February 23, 2019 / 1:22 pm

    I think my granddaughter would love wearing the Navy Ruffle Trim Day Dress.

  70. Wendy Guy
    February 23, 2019 / 2:36 pm

    They are all beautiful but I think my favourite is the ivory pageant ball gown for my granddaughter.

  71. Anthea Holloway
    February 23, 2019 / 2:51 pm

    I love them all and would choose and Ivory and Gold Party Dress.

  72. Rebecca Whatmore
    February 23, 2019 / 3:39 pm

    Pink Floral Perfume Gown is so beautiful – they all are!

  73. ellie spider
    February 23, 2019 / 3:55 pm

    they are all beautiful but im leaning towards the Royal Blue Floral Shift Dress (altho there is so much choice id prob change my mind if i win)

  74. Troy Easton
    February 23, 2019 / 7:29 pm

    Royal Blue floral dress It would be.

  75. Amanda J Davis
    February 23, 2019 / 8:25 pm

    Candyfloss Pink Skater Dress

  76. February 23, 2019 / 8:58 pm

    I love the Pink Floral Bardot Birthday Dress.

  77. Pat Healy
    February 23, 2019 / 9:17 pm

    Difficult choice but I think I would go for the pink skater dress

  78. Heli L
    February 23, 2019 / 9:44 pm

    So many gorgeous dresses but I think I’d choose the Royal Blue Floral Party Gown for my daughter.

  79. Becki Johnson
    February 23, 2019 / 9:54 pm

    I’d choose the Royal Blue floral dress for my daughter’s second birthday this July! They are all so lovely though!

  80. Charlotte G
    February 23, 2019 / 10:39 pm

    I love the Blush Pink Brocade Party Dress

  81. Laura Williams
    February 24, 2019 / 6:49 am

    The red frill parry dress is lovely

  82. ro day
    February 24, 2019 / 9:49 am

    I love the Navy Ruffle Trim Day Dress for my wedding. Our daughter will love lovely in it.

  83. Charlotte Woodward
    February 24, 2019 / 11:14 am

    I would chose the orange floral dress. It is gorgeous. All the dresses are, it was a hard choice

  84. February 24, 2019 / 11:39 am

    Ivory and Pink Drop Waist Dress would probably be my choice, fab dresses, our granddaughter would love one of these

  85. Melissa Lee
    February 24, 2019 / 12:31 pm

    I think I would choose the stunning Royal Blue Floral Deluxe Dress

  86. lynn neal
    February 24, 2019 / 3:34 pm

    I love the cream floral party gown for my granddaughter!

  87. mandydoherty65
    February 24, 2019 / 4:23 pm

    The Pink Sugarplum Flower Girl Dress

  88. Tammy Neal
    February 24, 2019 / 6:50 pm

    Royal blue bow pocket dress x

  89. Jeanette Leighton
    February 24, 2019 / 9:07 pm

    Definitely the beautiful pink one in the pictures above

  90. Fiona jk42
    February 24, 2019 / 9:12 pm

    I know my granddaughter will insist on a pink dress, so I’d pick the Ballerinia Pink Pocket Dress. I really like that most of the dresses are hand washable, as I think then the dresses can be worn many more times as you won’t have to worry about the expense of dry cleaning.

  91. Miriam Hansen
    February 24, 2019 / 9:35 pm

    The royal blue floral dress is beautiful

  92. paula cheadle
    February 24, 2019 / 10:06 pm

    I think I would go to Ivory and Gold Party Dress

  93. Rebecca Phillips
    February 24, 2019 / 10:16 pm

    I think the Rose Pink Ruffle Party Gown!

  94. Natalie Crossan
    February 24, 2019 / 10:34 pm

    The Royal Blue floral dress for my daughter – she would look so pretty in it 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.